Saturday, August 13, 2022
HomeSportsBCCI Announces Team India’s Squad For 2022 U-19 ODI World Cup

BCCI Announces Team India’s Squad For 2022 U-19 ODI World Cup

BCCI Announces Team India's Squad For 2022 U-19 ODI World Cup

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Team India’s squad for the upcoming 2022 U-19 ODI World Cup scheduled to be played in the West Indies from January 14th to February 5th.

The 2022 tournament will be the 14th edition of the U-19 ODI World Cup and India is the most successful team in the competition having won the title four times in 2000, 2008, 2012, and 2018.

They ended as the runners-up in 2016 and in 2020, where they lost to Bangladesh in a heated final. Yash Dhull has been named as the captain and he will be leading the 17-man squad for the tournament. SK Rasheed will act as his deputy for the same.

Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Dravid, India
The previous time the Men in Blue won was in 2018. [Image-Getty]

The tournament will see 16 teams playing in 48 matches stretched over a period of 23 days. There will be four groups of four teams each and the teams will play three matches in the group stage.

The format will see the top two teams from each of the four groups advance to the Super League while the remaining teams feature in the Plate across 23 days of competition. India U19 are placed in Group B,” the statement from BCCI read.

Yash Dhull
Yash Dhull. (Image Credits: Twitter)

India has been placed in Group B alongside South Africa, Ireland, and Uganda. They will play against the Proteas in their first match on January 15 at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. Next up will be Ireland on January 19 at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago and finally Uganda on January 22.

India’s squad for the U-19 World Cup

Yash Dhull (Captain), Harnoor Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, SK Rasheed (VC), Nishant Sindhu, Siddarth Yadav, Aneeshwar Gautam, Dinesh Bana, Aaradhya Yadav, Raj Angad Bawa, Manav Parakh, Kaushal Tambe, RS Hangargekar, Vasu Vats, Vicky Ostwal, Ravikumar, Garv Sangwan.

Standby players: Rishit Reddy, Uday Saharan, Ansh Gosai, Amrit Raj Upadhyay, PM Singh Rathore.

Also Read – IND vs SA: Ajinkya Rahane Might Find It Difficult To Find Place In Team – Aakash Chopra

The post BCCI Announces Team India’s Squad For 2022 U-19 ODI World Cup appeared first on CricketAddictor.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments